Prague Minos Guide

Web encyclopedia of GPS Digital Guide available in mobile devices around Prague for hire or for download during your visit.

CS | EN | FR | DE

Building u Hybernů

A unique Classic facade
Significant photo
Info text

The building takes its name from the former Irish Franciscans monastery. They had been invited by Emperor Ferdinand the Second into Bohemia around the year of 1630. The monks were nicknamed the "Hyberns" following their motherland Latin name – Hybernia. To the credit of the Irish Franciscans, potatoes were first introduced into Bohemia and grown in their garden.
After the monastery was closed down by Emperor Joseph the Second in 1785, it was transferred to the military troops, and later it was acquired by Count Jan Sweerts-Sporck. At the turn of the 18th and 19th century,

the space of the former Baroque church was used by the Czech theatre. The stage was located on the elevated chancel.
Later, it was acquired by the state banking authority, which at the beginning of the 19th century undertook important reconstruction work following architect Jiří Fischer´s project. The design was modelled on the Old Mint in Berlin. Later, financial offices, customs houses and censorship bureau headquartered on the premises.
The Building u Hybernů is one of the most valuable Empire structures in Prague. Today it is used as a stage for musical performances.

GPS: 50° 5′ 16.51″ N, 14° 25′ 37.07″ E

Kontaktní informace

Ulice Hybernská Město Praha 1


Certifikovaný partner
Running project in Prague
Android Android Objednat průvodce
© 2009 - all contents