Prague Minos Guide

Web encyclopedia of GPS Digital Guide available in mobile devices around Prague for hire or for download during your visit.

CS | EN | FR | DE

Lobkowicz Palace

Jewels of the Lobkowicz collections
Significant photo
Info text

The palace replaced two large Gothic buildings in the 16th century, it was built in a Renaissance style by the owners, the Pernštejn family. In 1627, the palace was acquired by Polyxena of Lobkowicz. The Baroque reconstruction of the palace is the work of architect Carlo Lurago and was done in the middle of the 17th century. The two-storey palace has a plain facade that extends throughout two courtyards. Two early Baroque portals lead to Jiřská Street. The original Renaissance palace had

two wings around the courtyard. It was richly decorated with sgraffiti.
Today the palace houses a permanent exhibition coming from the private collections of the Lobkowicz family called the "Jewels of Lobkowicz Collections". There are paintings of old masters by Velázquez, Brueghel and Canaletto, musical instruments, original handwritten documents and prints of renowned musical works by authors like Händel, Haydn and Beethoven. The exhibition also has a unique collection of weapons.

GPS: 50° 5′ 29.84″ N, 14° 24′ 17.12″ E

Kontaktní informace

Ulice Jiřská 3 Město Praha 1


Certifikovaný partner
Running project in Prague
Android Android Objednat průvodce
© 2009 - all contents