Prague Minos Guide

Web encyclopedia of GPS Digital Guide available in mobile devices around Prague for hire or for download during your visit.

CS | EN | FR | DE

About the house U Dvou sluncu (two suns)

Traditional house with a rich history and a restaurant
Info text

The earliest mention of the house dates back to 1614, where records list the house as a Renaissance building. It was reconstructed in an early Baroque style between 1670 and 1690, a late Baroque-style court wing was added in the second half of the 18th century and the style of the house was further modified in the early 19th century with an early Classic arrangement of the main building’s court façade. The two-storied building built on a rectangular in-depth plot consists of a frontal

structure on the Nerudova street, two narrow court wings, a rear structure running along Janska street, and a square courtyard. The main frontal-façade is dominated on the ground-floor by a Renaissance entryway on the left side, above which rests a plaque in a cartouche displaying the house’s symbol – an embossment of two golden suns. On the 1st floor, a memorial tablet on the inter-window pillar recalls that the famous author Jan Neruda used to live here in the years 1845 - 1857.


Certifikovaný partner
Running project in Prague
Android Android Objednat průvodce
© 2009 - all contents